FAQ

Here are answers to the most frequently asked questions from our visitors. They will help you prepare for a hunting experience that goes beyond your expectations!

Also visit THE EXPERIENCE to learn all about our elk and red stag hunting territory in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains.

Our beautiful hunting area is in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains and offers mixed forest cover. The entire preserve is forested which keeps the hunting challenge at a premium. The terrain is hilly with interesting slopes to make our hunting approaches. The territory has over 15 km of roads that are accessible by ATV and several hunting trails that are accessible by foot.

Our hunts are primarily stalking, so expect to hike 10 to 15 kilometers per day. Each hunter is accompanied by his own private guide who will adapt to the client’s needs and physical condition. It is also possible to use ATVs for people who have more difficulty with walking long distances. We can adapt to all the requirements of our customers. You will also be surprised by the wild behavior of our animals. It is necessary to use patience and strategies to thwart them because, despite the experience of our guides, the animals know the territory better than we do. The hunting challenge is preserved at its maximum.

Although our clients very rarely leave without harvesting the animal of their choice, hunting being what it is, there are no absolute guarantees. However, we do guarantee to give you an opportunity on a trophy that matches your expectations. Of course, if you do not shoot an animal there is no trophy fee.

Hunting season is in the fall and in the heart of the Appalachian Mountains temperatures can vary from day to day. Early in the season, you can expect warmer days and cooler nights. As the season progresses, the temperature differences can be greater. Although the weather is usually quite nice at this time of year, you may have to deal with rain and also snow that may fall at the end of the season. We will be able to inform you more accurately about the weather forecast closer to your stay at Roxton Falls Appalachian Wilderness Estate so that you can be adequately prepared.

Canadian customers arriving with their car

The trophy will be cleaned and ready for your departure. Depending on the type of mount you want, the cape will be removed from the animal and frozen afterwards. As for the meat: you can leave directly with your quarters and take them to your butcher or you can also have it prepared by a local butcher who will make sure everything is ready for your departure.

Customers from the United States arriving with their car

The trophy will be cleaned and ready for your departure. Depending on the type of mount you want, the cape will be removed from the animal and frozen afterwards. As for the meat: the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service requires that the meat be completely off the bone for entry into the United States. You can have the meat prepared by a local butcher who will make sure everything is ready for your departure. We will provide and complete all the necessary paperwork to allow you to cross the border safely with your trophy and meat.

Canadian customers arriving by air

The trophy will be cleaned and depending on the type of mounting you desire, the cape will be removed from the animal and frozen. The trophy and cape will then be shipped to the taxidermist of your choice. As for the meat: the most efficient and cheapest way is to bring it with you directly on your flight. You only pay the extra baggage fees and you can put the frozen meat in coolers available for purchase directly at the lodge. You will be able to have the desired amount of meat prepared by a local butcher who will make sure everything is ready for your departure.

U.S. customers arriving by air

The trophy will be cleaned and depending on the type of mount you desire, the cape will be removed from the animal and frozen. We offer a shipping service for trophies directly to a taxidermist in New York State. We will personally take care of all the necessary paperwork to import your trophies into the United States and deliver them ourselves. Once the trophies arrive, the taxidermist will contact you to see if you want to have your trophies mounted or shipped directly to your taxidermist. As for the meat: the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service requires that the meat be completely detached from the bones for entry into the United States. We will provide and complete all the necessary paperwork to allow you to cross the border with your trophy and meat without any problems.The most efficient and least expensive way is to bring it with you directly on your flight. You only pay the extra baggage fees and you can put the frozen meat in coolers available for purchase directly at the lodge. You will be able to have the desired amount of meat prepared by a local butcher who will make sure everything is ready for your departure.

International clients arriving by air

The trophy will be cleaned and depending on the type of mount you desire, the cape will be removed from the animal and frozen. We offer a shipping service for trophies directly to the taxidermist of your choice around the world. You can also have your trophy mounted directly by a taxidermist in Canada who will also take care of the shipping. As for the meat: you should check directly with the authorities in your respective country to see if you can bring meat with you. If you are able to bring meat with you, you will be able to have the desired amount of meat prepared by a local butcher who will ensure that everything is ready for your departure.

* Please note that shipping, taxidermy, and meat preparation costs are at the client’s expense.

Of course you can hunt with your own gun. However, be aware that if you want to travel light, we have a selection of very good quality guns available in 7mm wsm and 338 wm caliber.

Elk and Red Stag:

We recommend at least a .270 caliber. The most commonly used calibers for our elk and red stag hunts are 7mm, 300 and 338.

Bison:

Bison being a very tough animal we recommend a fairly powerful caliber. When we provide the weapon, we use the 338 caliber for the bison.

Bow, crossbow and black powder:

If you want, you can hunt with your bow, crossbow or black powder. However, we do not offer the loan of this type of weapon.

Because Roxton Falls Appalachian Wilderness Estate offers a completely forested area, the forest is very dense and maximum shooting distances rarely exceed 100 yards (300 feet or 91 meters).

By Air:

The Roxton Falls Appalachian Wilderness Estate is located 1.5 hours east of Quebec City which has its own international airport (YQB). Although not all international destinations have direct flights to Quebec City, Air Canada flies between Montreal (YUL) and Quebec City (YQB) every hour and the flight time is only 40 minutes. The Quebec City airport also has an executive terminal for private aircraft. Upon your arrival in Quebec City, a member of our team will be happy to welcome you directly at the airport or at your hotel.

By car:

Our territory is only 1 hour from Highway 20 (Trans-Canada Highway). Prior to your stay, the address and directions for the meeting point will be sent to you. A member of our team will be pleased to welcome you directly at the meeting point.

By helicopter:

For clients who plan to arrive by helicopter, we have a safe place to land only 10 km from the hunting territory. A member of our team will be happy to meet you directly at the meeting point.

For 2021, we are proud to introduce our new Lodge located in the center of the action, directly on the reserve. The idea is to continue to offer you a VIP and refined stay while taking your experience to a whole new level. Nothing is left to chance and we are committed to providing you with the most comfortable and upscale stay. This is why our new lodge, which will be completed for the 2021 season, will offer each guest a magnificent room with privacy and a private bathroom. Our chef is also committed to offering you a refined cuisine while respecting your tastes and allowing you to discover the flavors of the local terroir in an enchanting and friendly setting.

Yes, the lodge has cellular coverage and satellite internet available in the dining room.

Our hunting season is August through November.

No. The Roxton Falls Appalachian Wilderness Estate is a private hunting farm and no permit or license is required.

We offer 4 day, 4 night hunting trips. We ask our clients to arrive between 3:00 and 5:00 pm (or at your flight arrival time) the day before the first day of hunting. Departure is on the fourth day in the morning (at the time convenient to the client) if the hunt is completed or in the evening if the hunt is still not concluded.

We advise you to book as soon as possible. Each year we attend the major international hunting conventions from January to April and our spots are limited. We often book hunts 1 to 2 years in advance. Requested hunt dates are confirmed upon receipt of a deposit only.

Our rates start at $5,000 which includes the hunting package (in American plan) and a basic red stag for one hunter. The price depends on the species you want to hunt, your expectations and the size of the trophy. Contact us to discuss and book your unique hunting experience in the heart of the Appalachians!

No, our hunting territory is reserved for the exclusive use of our hunting clients.

Any other questions?

Communicate with us

Foire aux questions

Voici les réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées par nos visiteurs. Elles vous permettront de bien vous préparer à vivre une expérience de chasse qui va au-delà de vos attentes!

Visitez aussi la page L’EXPÉRIENCE DE CHASSE pour tout savoir de notre territoire de chasse au wapiti et cerf élaphe en plein cœur des Appalaches.

Notre magnifique territoire de chasse se trouve en plein cœur des Appalaches et offre une couverture de forêt mixte. L’entièreté de la réserve est boisée, ce qui maintient le défi de chasse au maximum. Le terrain est vallonné avec des dénivelés intéressants pour effectuer nos approches à la chasse. Le territoire comporte plus de 15 km de chemins qui sont accessibles en VTT et plusieurs sentiers de chasse accessibles à la marche.

Nos chasses se déroulent principalement à l’approche, attendez-vous à parcourir de 10 à 15 kilomètres de marche par jour. Chaque chasseur est accompagné de son guide privé qui s’adapte aux besoins et à la condition physique du client. Il est également possible d’utiliser des quads pour les gens qui ont plus de difficulté à se déplacer. Nous pouvons nous adapter à toutes les exigences de nos clients. Vous serrez également étonné par le comportement sauvage de nos animaux. En effet, il faut faire usage de patience et de stratégie pour les déjouer, car malgré l’expérience de nos guides, les animaux connaissent le territoire mieux que nous. Le défi de chasse est préservé à son maximum.

Bien que nos clients repartent très rarement sans avoir récolté l’animal de leur choix, la chasse étant ce qu’elle est, il n’y a pas de garantie absolue. Cependant, nous garantissons de vous donner une opportunité sur un trophée qui correspond à vos attentes. Bien entendu, si vous ne tirez pas d’animal, il n’y a pas de frais de trophée.

La saison de la chasse se passe en automne et, en plein cœur des montagnes des Appalaches, les températures peuvent varier d’une journée à l’autre. En début de saison, on peut s’attendre à des journées plus chaudes et à des nuits fraîches. Plus la saison avance, plus les écarts de température peuvent être grands. Bien qu’en général il fait relativement beau à cette période de l’année, il est possible que vous ayez à affronter la pluie et aussi la neige qui peut tomber à la fin de la saison. Plus près de votre séjour au Domaine du Wapiti, nous pourrons vous informer plus précisément sur la météo annoncée afin de vous y préparer adéquatement.

Clients canadiens arrivant avec leur voiture

Le trophée sera nettoyé et prêt pour votre départ. Tout dépendant du type de montage que vous désirez, la cape sera retirée de l’animal et congelée par la suite. Pour la viande, vous pouvez repartir directement avec vos quartiers et les apporter à votre boucher ou bien vous pouvez également la faire préparer par un boucher local qui s’assurera que tout est prêt pour votre départ.

Clients des États-Unis arrivant avec leur voiture

Le trophée sera nettoyé et prêt pour votre départ. Tout dépendant du type de montage que vous désirez, la cape sera retirée de l’animal et congelée par la suite. Pour la viande, le U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service requiert que la viande soit complètement détachée des os pour l’entrée aux États-Unis. Vous pourrez faire préparer la viande par un boucher local qui s’assurera que tout est prêt pour votre départ. Nous fournirons et remplirons tous les documents nécessaires pour vous permettre de traverser la frontière sans problème avec votre trophée et votre viande.   

Clients canadiens arrivant par avion

Le trophée sera nettoyé et selon le type de montage que vous désirez, la cape sera retirée de l’animal et congelée. Par la suite, le trophée et la cape seront expédiés au taxidermiste de votre choix. Pour la viande, la façon la plus efficace et la moins coûteuse est de l’apporter avec vous directement sur votre vol. Vous payez seulement les frais de bagages supplémentaires et vous pourrez mettre la viande congelée dans des glacières disponibles à l’achat directement au lodge. Vous pourrez faire préparer la quantité de viande désirée par un boucher local qui s’assurera que tout est prêt pour votre départ.

Clients des États-Unis arrivant par avion

Le trophée sera nettoyé et selon le type de montage que vous désirez, la cape sera retirée de l’animal et congelée. Nous offrons un service d’expédition des trophées directement chez un taxidermiste de l’État de New York. Nous nous occupons personnellement de tous les documents nécessaires à l’importation de vos trophées aux États-Unis et allons nous-mêmes les livrer. Une fois les trophées arrivés, le taxidermiste vous contactera à savoir si vous voulez faire monter vos trophées ou bien les faire expédier directement chez votre taxidermiste.  Pour la viande, le U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service requiert que la viande soit complètement détachée des os pour l’entrée aux États-Unis. Nous fournirons et remplirons tous les documents nécessaires pour vous permettre de traverser la frontière sans problème avec votre trophée et votre viande. Pour la viande, la façon la plus efficace et la moins coûteuse est de l’apporter avec vous directement sur votre vol. Vous payez seulement les frais de bagages supplémentaires et vous pourrez mettre la viande congelée dans des glacières disponibles à l’achat directement au lodge. Vous pourrez faire préparer la quantité de viande désirée par un boucher local qui s’assurera que tout est prêt pour votre départ.

Clients internationaux arrivant par avion

Le trophée sera nettoyé et selon le type de montage que vous désirez, la cape sera retirée de l’animal et congelée. Nous offrons un service d’expédition des trophées directement chez le taxidermiste de votre choix à travers le monde. Vous pouvez aussi faire monter votre trophée directement par un taxidermiste du Canada qui s’occupera également de l’expédition. Pour la viande, vous devez vérifier directement avec les autorités de votre pays respectif à savoir si vous pouvez rapporter de la viande avec vous. Si vous pouvez en apporter, vous pourrez faire préparer la quantité de viande désirée par un boucher local qui s’assurera que tout est prêt pour votre départ.

* Notez que les frais d’expédition, de taxidermie et de préparation de la viande sont à la charge du client.

Évidemment, vous pouvez chasser avec votre propre arme. Sachez cependant que si vous souhaitez voyager léger, nous avons une sélection d’armes de très bonne qualité à votre disposition de calibre 7mm wsm et 338 wm.

Wapiti et Cerf élaphe :

Nous recommandons au minimum un calibre .270. Les calibres les plus utilisés pour nos chasses au wapiti et au cerf élaphe sont 7mm, 300 et 338.

Bison :

Le bison étant un animal très robuste, nous conseillons un calibre assez puissant. Quand nous fournissons l’arme, nous utilisons le calibre 338 pour le bison.

Arc, arbalète et poudre noire :

Si vous le voulez, vous pouvez chasser avec votre arc, arbalète ou poudre noire, cependant nous n’offrons pas le prêt de ce type d’armes.

Comme le Domaine du Wapiti offre un territoire complètement boisé, la forêt est très dense et les distances de tir maximum dépassent rarement 100 verges (300 pieds ou 91 mètres).

Par avion :

Le Domaine du Wapiti est situé à 1 h 30 à l’est de la Ville de Québec, qui dispose de son aéroport international (YQB). Bien que toutes les destinations internationales n’ont pas nécessairement un vol direct vers Québec, Air Canada fait la liaison entre Montréal (YUL) et Québec (YQB) chaque heure et le vol est de seulement 40 minutes. L’aéroport de Québec dispose également d’un terminal exécutif pour les avions privés. Dès votre arrivée à Québec, un membre de notre équipe se fera un plaisir de vous accueillir directement à l’aéroport ou à votre hôtel. 

En voiture :

Notre territoire se trouve à seulement 1 heure de l’autoroute 20 (transcanadienne). Avant votre séjour, l’adresse et les directions pour le point de rencontre vous seront envoyées. Un membre de notre équipe se fera un plaisir de vous accueillir directement au point de rencontre.

Par hélicoptère :

Pour les clients qui prévoient arriver par hélicoptère, nous avons un endroit sécuritaire pour vous poser à seulement 10 km du territoire de chasse. Un membre de notre équipe se fera un plaisir de vous accueillir directement au point de rencontre.

Pour 2021, nous sommes fiers d’introduire notre nouveau Lodge situé au centre de l’action, directement sur la réserve. L’idée est de continuer de vous offrir un séjour VIP et raffiné tout en faisant évoluer votre expérience à un tout autre niveau. Chez nous, rien n’est laissé au hasard et nous nous engageons à vous offrir un séjour des plus confortables et haut de gamme. C’est pourquoi notre nouveau lodge qui sera complété pour la saison 2021 offrira à chaque client une magnifique chambre en toute intimité avec salle de bain privée. Notre chef s’engage également à vous offrir une cuisine raffinée tout en respectant vos goûts et en vous faisant découvrir les saveurs du terroir local, et ce dans un cadre enchanteur et convivial.

Oui, le lodge dispose d’une couverture cellulaire et d’un internet satellite disponible à la salle à manger.

Notre saison de chasse est d’août à novembre.

Non. Le Domaine du Wapiti est une ferme cynégétique privée et aucun permis ou licence n’est nécessaire.

Nous offrons des séjours de chasse de 4 jours et 4 nuits. Nous demandons à nos clients d’arriver entre 15 h et 17 h (ou à l’heure d’arrivée de votre vol) la journée avant le premier jour de chasse. Le départ s’effectue à la quatrième journée en avant-midi (à l’heure qui convient au client) si la chasse est terminée ou en soirée si la chasse n’est toujours pas conclue.

Nous vous conseillons de réserver le plus tôt possible. Chaque année, nous sommes présents aux grandes conventions de chasse internationales de janvier à avril et les nos places sont limitées. Nous chasses se réservent souvent entre 1 et 2 ans d’avance. Les dates de chasse demandées sont confirmées sur réception d’un dépôt seulement.

Nos tarifs débutent à 5 000 $, ce qui inclut le forfait de chasse (en plan américain) et un cerf élaphe de base pour un chasseur. Le prix évolue en fonction de l’espèce que vous voulez chasser, de vos attentes et de la taille du trophée.  Communiquez avec nous afin d’en discuter et de réserver votre expérience de chasse unique en plein cœur des Appalaches!

Non, notre territoire de chasse est réservé à l’usage exclusif de nos clients chasseurs.
Vous avez d'autres questions ?

Communiquez avec nous